Let’s Groove Tonight!

Imperial Events had the pleasure of speaking with the talented and glamorous Patrice D’Evans about her style and love for dance. Come and join us on her journey as a professional performer and how it all began. 

Meet The Owner!

Patrice D’Evans

Describe your company and the services you offer.

Through dance, we connect with each other through our mind, body, and spirit, so I chose to name my company Body, Mind and Spirit Productions, Inc. As a professional international dancer and SAG eligible actress, I offer a Caribbean – Latin style belly dance performance and party-starting experience for weddings, wedding receptions, bachelorette parties, bridal showers, birthday parties and more.

I also offer personal training with an online Saka ® Core Fitness program for women, as well as a children’s fitness program.

Please share a little information about yourself and how you came to love what you do for your clients.

I have always had a God-given talent and ability for dance and performing arts, and I have been professionally trained as well, with a Bachelor of Arts in dance and theater.   I have been performing professionally for over 30 years. 

I fell in love with international dance including dance hall (reggae), salsa, cumbia, merengue, bachata, African dance, la sevillana (flamingo) and Thai from growing up in New York City, from my friends in college and from studying abroad in Seville, Spain.  I speak Spanish fluently as well. 

I fell in love with all things about weddings when I started to plan for my own wedding.  I knew when I was making my own veil (and veils for others) that I wanted to work with brides to make their day perfect. 

What services do you provide?

I perform a captivating, unique and elegant Caribbean/Latin style belly dance for the bride, groom and their guests at their wedding and/or wedding reception (or any other event).  I also offer a mini-lesson for interested participants at the event and/or a one of a kind fun-filled party starting experience, where I get everyone off of their feet having “a time to remember” as one of my clients said on their review. I am known for being lively, fun and full of joy, which is contagious.

Who are your typical clients?

My typical clients are women (and their husband or fiancé’).  My adult client’s ages range from 25 years old to 75 years old, and they are of all ethnicities and cultures, especially those who love Caribbean dance.  While my clients are primarily women, the events could be for themselves or their spouses.  My clients have shared that they chose me because after watching my Caribbean belly dance videos from previous events, in which I have performed, they could see that I will bring lots of fun to their event.

What is your favorite part of being a wedding professional in your field of the wedding industry?

I love to see the smile and satisfaction on the face of my clients when I have helped her, (and her husband) achieve her vision and dream for her day with what I do.  I love what I do, and I love to bring the joy out in others.  It’s such a privilege for me to have a God-given gift and to be able to bless others with it for their special day.

Should you have taking dance classes previously to take your class?

No, they would not need to have taken a dance class prior to my belly dance workshop. They just need to bring their smile, love for dancing and having a great time and I’ll take care of the rest.  My workshops are perfect for the beginner or the seasoned dancer.  I always give my clients a place to aspire to grow at all levels.  This is the same for my personal training services with Saka ® Core Fitness online. 

What tips can you share with brides to be during their wedding planning process as well as leading up to their Big Day? 

I would say make sure your vision is heard, received and followed through with a team that “gets you and your groom”.  Share your story and your vision and let your planner and team bring it to life.  This is yours and your fiancé’s day and everyone else is coming into your world to experience it.  Make it about the two of you -so when you look back you have no regrets and you smile because it was just the way YOU and YOUR FIANCE’ envisioned your wedding day to be.

Which dance is your favorite dance to teach?

While I also love to teach all forms of dance, I must say I get the most reward when my clients learn the salsa because it’s one of the harder forms of Latin dance. 

But, I particularly love to teach belly dance Caribbean style because I see that women feel so beautiful and sexy and that brings out their joy! 

What is the biggest lesson you have learned during your career as a wedding professional and what advice would you give brides who are seeking your products or services for their Big Day or other events pertaining to their wedding day? 

I’ve learned that all brides want to feel and look beautiful on their wedding day and what better way to achieve that but to fit into their beautiful gown perfectly on that day.  My advice for brides seeking my services would be to not only use my services as a performer and party starter for their bridal shower, bachelorette, wedding reception and wedding but to take advantage of my personal training with Saka Core Fitness online program.  I would design a program specifically for their body type and needs in the time needed to fit into their gown and they will have fun doing it.

Please share any great stories you feel will give clients/potential clients inspiration.

I set out to have all those that I knew loved me and my fiancé’ on my wedding day and I made it intimate.  I wanted to look in any direction of the wedding reception room and know from the best of my knowledge that any person I looked at loved us and wanted the best for us, and I wanted our signature personalities in our wedding.  I got just that, and now when I look back, I can smile because I was able to capture what mattered most to my husband and me for our day.  Of course, there was a lot of dancing as you may conclude. 

Congrats to you and I pray you that have an amazing day to remember!

Leave a comment